The Making of a Great Retail Store: Let’s Have More Black Fridays! (Case Study Restaurant or Retail #9)


 

black friday logo

(Photo from Google Images)

Today is Saturday and I have finally made it to the cafe. That means I am done with my errands and also my Saturday rest has begun. The weather has been mixed. I expected rain and morning was rainy but turned sunny and nice. Now, it has been raining as was forecasted. I had to take a short trip to get another phone. I fried my Blackberry when I changed phones and though the fixing seemed simple it was turned impossible and I just switched the phone. I now have a white Blackberry 8520 and admit it looks more distinguished than the black one I returned. It looks like a plastic phone but has a different look for a Blackberry and I like it for now. I have to charge my battery and install the many apps I use and once everything has been configured, I will be able to use the phone. I expect that to be no sooner than tomorrow. That has been the more interesting part of my day besides the fact that my cooking has improved and is expanding into new ingredients and handling of what I cook. I expect to continue experimenting based on what I am doing at the time until I am comfortable with the ingredients and have tried everything I could. I expect to be interested in classic recipes at that point as standards for doing what I do now (cooking?) at accepted levels. I finished Black Friday last night. The worst part of the experience was waking up at 3:15 am. The rest was easy and went through as I had expected though seemed taking alternate courses at times. I think the occasion of a one-day sale similar to Black Friday serves many and should be practiced more often. Black Friday is probably created both by the market forces (the public going out to shop after Thanksgiving) and the business establishment (an organized effort to push the public into shopping mode) but as a single event works on many levels. I am personally interested in the potential of doing an event similar to Black Friday more than once-a-year. The dynamics of Black Friday event serve the public by providing many items at prices that are competitive and the experience of shopping for them is worthwhile. The public are willing to repeat such experience more than once-a-year if organized and arranged for properly in advance. The concentration and the focus prior to the event excites the public and 80% of the value of the Black Friday event is in the excitement built prior to the event. The actual event unloads the energy and soon is to be forgotten. The physical activities resulting from the release of such energy force the public to choose from many available choices some of which are special values and many of which are not. This practical mandate results in replacement of many necessary things that would otherwise remain as they are. The practice benefits the general public greatly and may be similar to Spring cleaning for the benefits provided only-once-a-year. The public gets much more from this emotional event than a few cheap items and lots of media attention. It is necessary to shop and replace many items regularly and only a small percentage of the population are disciplined enough to actually monitor such needs. An occasional event similar to Black Friday forces everyone to move in the direction of maintaining and replacing at least a few (and if not many) things in their lives. The benefits are necessary for a balanced living. In a perfect world, people would buy and replace things as needed but in our world, that is done based on many criteria and most of them have little to do with genuine needs. Occasional but highly organized events such as Black Friday enable EVERYONE in the general population to make an effort to maintain a balanced standard of existence. The negative side-effects are many but can be handled easily and the overall benefits fulfill a giant need that has been going unserved culturally. The occasion may be a good opportunity for the sellers to remove many items from their inventory that need to go but cannot at regular prices or even sale prices. The public can be a great beneficiary of such items if the organized event is socially developed and efforts are targeted at filling needs rather than shopping for the sake of shopping. Practical bulk selling of items at very low prices by having a one-day event prove practical because many items will also sell in the process at regular prices thus making the one-day events cost-effective as vehicles for removal of inventory. I have worked in retail on Black Friday events and yesterday was my longest day making me ponder. Black Friday has a few good things in store for the general public and a few for the sellers but overall is a disorganized effort that is hard to manage but can be done. One of the reasons for the difficulties of Black Friday operation is it happens only once-a-year. If such a sale took place universally more often, it would be possible to use the event as an opportunity to replace and acquire many needed items for the benefit of everyone in the general public (and not to spend the most possible once-a-year) and provide an organized and efficient event. The retailers can benefit tremendously from the spike in purchases and relieve of many items while the public can improve quality of living on a regular basis. All of this is possible by developing the dynamics of a once-in-a-while event such as Black Friday. Regular industry-wide events similar to Black Friday (and they have to include everyone in all industries or will not work) make for good economy and allow public to have enough money available for maintaining and improving of the quality of living.

*This post belongs to this week’s edition of Wine by Cush Magazine blog and published early in World of Cush also.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

