Last Saturday of September should be World Trebbiano Day as of Now (Reflection 46)


 

trebbiano grappoli 2005 02

(Photo from Google Images – Trebbiano Grappoli)

Today is Saturday and what a day it is. I woke up fresh and sun was up and a beautiful day outside. Coffee and leftover mini donuts were followed by my shower but no shave. I have to figure out how not to do so much on my day off but cannot. No shave will help for now. I know temp will go as high as 95 today and almost ready for it. I carried a package to ship to my family and post office here has no service window so have to go to another one. I forgot to go to bank first before crashing at the Starbucks to do some work online. Bank is open late so I am saved. I declared today International Bambino day. Somehow I remember that as a name for Ugni Blanc or Trebbiano grape so kept my mistake as the standard. Grenache day was celebrated by our thoughtful local winemakers (who may be thirsty for my b.. by now) and I was foolish enough to question the significance of Grenache??? It does so much for local folks making experimental wine but besides that is what? I had to declare today International Day to celebrate Trebbiano. I think a grape that is blended into so many wines as filler or by cheating and distilled into so many wonderful spirits had to celebrated. My fondest memories of Trebbiano are my innocent question of a wine guru once about his thoughts on Trebbiano: “It ought to be banned.” He said emphatically and that was the last I ever heard or talked about Trebbiano ever. I think there is great value in celebrating Trebbiano or St Emillion or Ugni Blanc (or even Bambino? where did I get that from?) for all they do. After all where would the wine world be without high yield grapes? I am amazed that hardly anyone knows that 95% of all US wine is made in California (they sort of know) and 98% of that is made in Central Valley where temperature are the hot as the hottest spots in the world. I wonder what grows that keeps this industry going? Is it the high priced (by tonnage?) Merlot, Cab Sauv, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and so on or high yield grapes of questionable quality and character? I dare not answer. I am not writing to ruin anyone’s business but what drives wine industry anyway? Is it quality?

*This post belongs to this week’s edition of Wine by Cush Magazine blog and published early in World of Cush also.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

