From Virgin Mobile to Boost, Unlimited Flat-fee without A Contract is the Future of Cell Services (Short Piece #28)


 

A nice lady from Virgin Mobile wrote on my blog I misstated that Virgin is getting rid of their contract service but do have monthly service. That is my mistake but also brings me to a point that monthly unlimited service (or limited flat fee) is not necessarily a contract service.

I have been looking some phones over mostly because the keyboard on my phone is not very big. It is actually small but no different than a Blackberry. I had to explain to a customer, who was buying a cellphone with a keyboard, last week that contrary to what people believe one does not hold these small phones by two hands and use thumbs to type by visually dividing the keyboard into two equal halves. The reason my fingers do not get tired is because I divide the keyboard to two unequal halves. My right thumb does most of the pushing buttons and my left thumb helps with less than ten keys that are on the far left of the keyboard. It is a trick that works but in the long run, it is better to have a larger keyboard and a fancy phone with good keyboard can go a long way.

I looked various services over and frankly I am afraid of any contract service because I will have overages. I estimated I must have spent $5000 to $7000 with my last carrier which was an excellent provider thus no name mentioned but even with a $35 plan that I had forever, I never could figure out how I went over so much. I looked a few things over and Virgin carries Rumor 2 which should do everything I need to do but I also found Boost has new phones that work on Sprint network for flat fee. Sanyo Incognito, by my research and we also sell it but hardly ever in stock, costs a flat $50 each month which means the damage will never be over $600 per annum but works on Sprint network. That technically makes it Sprint service on an unlimited monthly basis but without a contract and I believe that is what the nice Virgin lady was saying. Virgin contract and Virgin monthly are not the same and the point is now well taken. Sprint contract and Sprint monthly are not the same either. I now know I can have Sprint service without a contract as Sprint monthly unlimited under the name Boost. That is great since Incognito will allow me all the social media privileges (as Virgin does and has been ahead of them in providing) but also has a very nice keyboard that I can type till I drop.

I think I have made my final decision and when my next bill is due with my phone (unless something better and more interesting comes my way) I just port my phone number into Boost as long as Incognito is available for sale. Why all this talk about my phone shopping? I think the days of contract phone service are coming to an end quickly and the signs of the times are here. I have had my present phone for four months and is a great device and is time for it to go. Incognito will do everything I need to do with a few things my present phone cannot do (which are very important by the way) but I figure it will last me 90 days before I have to move up again. Technology is not the only thing that changes rapidly. Our business needs can change quickly also and these devices are not made to last forever or do the job perfectly forever. A phone locked into a contract is great for non-professionals with static needs but the rest of us will have to be flexible and ready to change often.

Virgin purchased Helio (or whatever is its name) and the contract service was inherited from them. That is out the door and Virgin mobile will do pre-paid and monthly flat fee no contract service. That may be a strategic move by Virgin to take care of their niche market but is also a sign of the times. Phone contracts used to be one year and that scared people and have been two years for so long nobody cares any more. The cost of the monthly fee has gone up so much a $100 fee is nothing both by getting used to and the inflation of money. $100 is same as $40 three years ago but nobody notices the loss of purchasing power. I think the trend will be to provide equal service to contract carriers with phones that can be changed more often than two year periods and no contracts to tie people down. We can blame Sprint for that one by introducing phones that work on Sprint network but are also unlimited and flat fee through another carrier (which they own as they own Virgin). Phone service will be different in the near future and everyone has to work harder and better to keep their customers or just buy out the competition and be able to give the public a hard time by the lack of choices of providers. I think I know what I need and the solution works for 90 days. Who knows what I will need beyond that?

*This post belongs to this week’s edition of Wine by Cush Magazine blog and published early in World of Cush also.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

