Sugar Canes at the Farmer’s Market (Reflection #36)


 

0127101130a

I would have never seen the canes had I not tried to avoid the crowd and walk the path behind most tents at the Farmer’s Market. That is where I came across several tables filled with sugar canes. You never see them when passing by the front of the vendors. I immediately recognized them and the first thing that came to my mind was ‘rum.’ I kept thinking ‘rum’ and ‘rum.’ I realized I cannot think of any other good uses for the canes.

0127101130b

The little lady mumbled something when I pulled my cellphone out to shoot the canes. I think she said “fuck you. don’t take my picture.” I looked at her puzzled if the little old lady really said that and she avoided me. I am still surprised at some people. Who gives a damn to take any pictures of most people in public in the first place, and how do you get to do well in business without publicity? That is why Civic Center Farmer’s Market is at best a second or third rate venue. Selling stuff is more than just setting up a table with a bunch of something to sell. You have to do many things right to have a good thing going. The Ferry Farmer’s Market vendors are not selling stuff that are that much better than here but they are more businesslike and hence the more successful market.

0127101130

Anyway, the canes look very interesting and somewhat curious to buy one and figure out what can be cooked with it besides making rum. I don’t recall recipes or dishes based on sugar canes.

*This post belongs to this week’s edition of Wine by Cush Magazine blog and published early in World of Cush also.

Leave a Reply

