Edition Twenty Three 29 November to 4 December 2009 (Wine by Cush)


 

Edition 23 has a few posts but they are worth the reading and some will continue in the next editions.

Netbooks may prove to be disposable laptops in the near future and actually may be of more use than the marketers had thought of. Twitter has finally made it. The Making of Ronin is a case study about a training program I am involved in and will continue for as long as the training does. I found a retail happy hour sign by accident and why not do the same for all retail shops daily? The Making of a Great Retail Store or Restaurant is a case study about a retail job I started that also is part of my Ronin training and will continue for as long as the training does. When I was promoting happy hours, at a restaurant I managed, I tried many different approaches and using a chalk-written blackboard standup sign outdoors proved very productive. I came acorss the same last week and why not use it for retail promotions and restaurants both? I read an article about 10 worst food things and communal tables were listed as one which I really could not agree or disagree but made me question what of communal tables today and in the future? The battle over wine ratings continue with the big business wanting them gone in favor of general advertising and I had to question the wisdom of not using ratings for the busy and (wine) illiterate consumers. Times are tough and we need to go back to basics to keep businesses going. I read a rigid food blog post that would not loosen up and read the comments also making me think what would happen if the blog posts are rated on a 1 to 5 star system as restaurant reviews are by general public? And why not rate a blog on Yelp or other sites so people can write comments and give it ratings? I think the results will move writers from many local publications and blogs up to solid prominence and throw ‘forced writers and reviewers’ such as those of San Francisco Chronicle down to the nothing that they are. If only there was an effective feedback system in place and why not the numerical ratings of 1 to 5?

*This post belongs to this week’s edition of Wine by Cush Magazine blog and published early in World of Cush also.

Leave a Reply

